Motorcyle racing games

I’ve mainly been playing racing games for the last couple of weeks, rather than story based games. Forza Motorsport 3 and the demo for MotoGP 2013 mainly.

Yesterday, I set up my PS2 again because the demo of MotoGP2013 on the Xbox 360 gave me the taste for playing motorcycle racing games again and MotoGP for PS2 is the only complete motorcycle racing game I have, apart from Superbike 2000 for PS1. The Superbike championships are different to MotoGP and are a bit like touring cars compared to Formula 1. Motorcycle racing games usually have an arcade mode and a simulation mode. I like the simulation mode the best. It is hard though because it always involves a good balance of three things:

  • Knowing the track really well
  • Combining power and breaking to maintain speed and control
  • Restraining yourself from putting the power to maximum all the time

I used to own MotoGP2007 but I traded it in, a move I regret now. I thought MotoGP2007 was a good game but I think it was the difficulty that put me off it. Now though, I am more patient.

I also downloaded the demo for MotoGP2010/11 for Xbox360 to give that a go. However, I instantly knew that I preferred MotoGP2013 upon playing it.

MotoGP for PS2 was released by Namco, MotoGP07 for Xbox360 was released by THQ, MotoGP10/11 was released by Capcom and MotoGP2013 was released by Milestone. I was surprised to read at Wikipedia that the THQ have more a reputation for being Arcade based and Capcom are more balanced for simulation because after my experience playing MotoGP2007 compared to the demo of MotoGP2010/11 I thought it was the opposite. The Namco release of MotoGP for PS2 is very arcade-like too.

I’ve enjoyed motorcyle racing games ever since I bought Full Throttle for the ZX Spectrum. I love that game and spent hours and hours on it when I was a teenager.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment